Sport and Adventure

Of course our beaches are nicer than others, but this is no reason to reduce the Great Island to the image of a seaside resort.

While some people fancy lazing on the shore of a sumptuous lagoon during their stay, the current trend seems to be towards activity vacations. And Madagascar has incredible, unique natural assets for this.

Over the whole country you can find an array of hikes and treks varying in length and effort. From small family excursions to the biggest expeditions in the heart of the bush, many operators will offer you routes to suit your tastes. Note however that the hot season, especially on the coast, can make walking particularly difficult. The same applies to motor sports (motorbikes, quad bikes) and mountain biking. Tracks wend their way in all directions and weave a real spider web throughout the country.

Dare, explore, discover the wonderful bush world off the beaten track. Whitewater activities are rapidly expanding (canoeing, kayaking, rafting) and enthusiasts will find the right profile river, from a smooth glide down to the fastest rapids. The great extent and variety of the waterway network makes for all-year-round watersport.

If you feel like a fish (or dolphin), there are more and more water activities in all the seaside resorts. The classic sports are possible in excellent conditions on all coasts.

  • Surfers will focus on the South which has the most beautiful waves you could ever dream of.
  • Kiters and windsurfers can choose between the Diego area (Sakalava Bay, Emerald Sea) and the South, from Tulear to Fort Dauphin.

These spots are available outside of the rainy season ; as soon as the trade winds begin to blow, things get under way.

For game fishing, the No Kill practice is generally accepted and despite a certain seasonal character, you can go out to sea almost all year round. You will find specific craft in all the coast resorts.

  • Pleasure boats and marinas are still few and far between but the Nosy Be area is particularly well equipped. All sorts of sailing craft are rented out, skippers are experienced and the waters of the region particularly suitable for sailing outside the rainy season. And then you may have specific, maybe more technical expectations.
  • Paragliders basically crisscross the high plateaus and do a little on the south coast. The Tana-Tulear line has made it possible to set up flight spots along the entire route. The rainy season must be avoided because of the heat and stormy weather.
  • Climbing has two world-famous sites attracting climbers from the world over

The Diego Suarez area, which provides short routes on spectacular limestone cliffs, and the Tsaranoro valley, at the foot of the Andringitra (south of Fianarantsoa/Ambalavao) with its fabulous 800-metre granite walls, a dream for the boldest climbers.

  • Caving is undoubtedly the oldest activity. This started in colonial days, and the exploring potential seems infinite ; there is no doubt that people keep stumbling across wonders such as the recently-discovered network near Tulear which has attracted the attention of scientists and fans from all over the world.
  • Canyoning is still in its infancy and is done mainly in the highlands and the Andringitra park. The playful side of this activity should make for rapid growth in popularity with more and more of our Reunion friends coming over.

You can see that Mada is not just a beautiful beach, our canyons, tracks, mountains and skies are waiting for you to have amazing times in the heart of Nature.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sports et aventures

Bien sûr nos plages sont plus belles que les autres, mais ce n’est pas une raison pour réduire la Grande Ile à l’image d’une station balnéaire.

Si certaines personnes se voient bien lézarder au bord d’un somptueux lagon durant leur séjour, la tendance actuelle semble plutôt se porter vers les vacances actives. Et pour cela, Madagascar possède d’incroyables et uniques atouts naturels.

Sur la totalité du territoire, vous pourrez trouver des options de randonnées et de treks plus ou moins longs et engagés. De la petite balade en famille aux expéditions les plus lourdes au fin fond de nos brousses, nombre d’opérateurs vous proposeront les itinéraires qui conviendront à vos attentes. Notez tout de même que la saison chaude, surtout sur les côtes, peut rendre la marche particulièrement pénible. Il en va de même pour les sports mécaniques (moto, quad) et le VTT.

Les pistes déroulent leurs rubans dans toutes les directions et tissent une véritable toile d’araignée sur l’ensemble du territoire.

Osez, explorez, découvrez le merveilleux monde de la brousse, loin des sites les plus fréquentés. Les activités d’eau vive se développent rapidement (canoe, kayak, rafting) et les amateurs trouveront la rivière au bon profil, de la descente tranquille aux rapides les plus impétueux. L’importance et la variété du réseau hydrographique permet la pratique 12 mois par an.

Si vous vous sentez l’âme d’un poisson (ou d’un dauphin), les activités nautiques se multiplient sur toutes les stations balnéaires. Les sports les plus classiques sont praticables dans d’excellentes conditions sur toutes les côtes.

  • Les surfers se concentreront sur le Sud qui offre les plus belles vagues dont on puisse rêver.
  • Kiters et windsurfers auront le choix entre la région de Diego (Sakalava, mer d’Émeraude) et le Sud, de Tuléar à Fort Dauphin.

Les spots sont praticables en dehors de la saison des pluies, dès que les alizés commencent à souffler, le bal est ouvert.

Pour la pêche au gros, la pratique du No Kill se généralise et malgré un certain caractère saisonnier permet de sortir quasiment toute l’année. Vous trouverez des embarcations spécifiques sur toutes les stations de la côte.

  • Les bateaux de plaisance et marinas sont encore trop rares mais la région de Nosy Be est particulièrement bien équipée. Toutes sortes de voiliers sont en location, les skippers sont expérimentés et les eaux de la région particulièrement propices à la navigation en dehors de la saison des pluies.
    Et puis, vous pouvez avoir des attentes spécifiques et peut être plus techniques.
  • Les parapentistes sillonnent essentiellement les hauts plateaux et un peu de la côte sud. L’axe Tana-Tuléar a permis d’établir des spots de vol sur tout le trajet. Saison des pluies à éviter en raison des fortes chaleurs et du caractère orageux.
  • L’escalade avec deux sites de renommée mondiale et qui attirent les grimpeurs du monde entier :

La région de Diégo Suarez qui offre des voies courtes sur un calcaire spectaculaire et la vallée du Tsaranoro, au pied de l’Andringitra (au sud de Fianarantsoa/Ambalavao) avec ses fabuleux murs de granit de 800m qui font rêver les plus audacieux.

  • La spéléologie est sans aucun doute la plus ancienne activité. Initiée sous la colonie, le potentiel d’exploration semble infini et nul doute que l’on continue à y découvrir des merveilles comme le réseau découvert récemment près de Tuléar et qui a attiré l’attention des scientifiques et amateurs du monde entier.
  • Le canyoning en est encore aux balbutiements et se pratique essentiellement sur les hautes terres et le parc de l’Andringitra. Le côté ludique de l’activité devrait permettre un essor rapide et nos amis Réunionnais commencent à venir plus nombreux.

Vous voyez bien que Mada ce n’est pas juste une belle plage, nos canyons, nos pistes, nos montagnes et nos ciels vous attendent pour des séjours d’exception au Naturel.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *