Malagasy Culture and Traditions

Malagasy Culture and Traditions

Malagasy culture is difficult to apprehend succinctly. It is based on “Fihavanana“. An untranslatable word, it is akin to mutual aid, solidarity and protection among members of the same family, including the ancestors, members of the same clan, neighbours, ethnic groups … This value is a fundamental principle of Malagasy individual and collective life. So to maintain Fihavanana, a Malagasy will naturally carry out “Adidy” (duties) towards society throughout his/her life. Fihavanana also fosters a sense of belonging in many ceremonies such as

Circumcision (Famorana)

This takes place from June to September and is a highlight of the relationship between the ancestors and the living. It consecrates the social affiliation of a boy to his father’s lineage and therefore to his ancestors. Circumcision can also be done collectively as in Mananjary. Called “Sambatra“, this ceremony gives rise to great festivities every 7 years.

Malagasy marriage

This is a very important time of life to have the blessing of parents and society. It usually takes place in 3 stages (with variants) including the most important one, the Vodiondry (literally sheep croup). This last stage is the “negotiation” phase between the two families. As the future wife is considered very precious, the fiancé’s family must prove to the other party that she will be loved and cherished. Moreover, the bridegroom must give her parents a dowry or sum of money equivalent to compensation for the the bride’s absence. This ceremony can give rise to long oratorical matches (kabary) and thus last for hours.

Ancestor worship

Believing that there is a life after death and that ancestors have the power to protect and help the living, the Malagasy must respect them. The ancestors are like the bond that binds the living to the Creator of the universe (Zanahary or Andriananahary). So there are many sacred places, “Doany” (stones, trees, hills, lakes …) in Madagascar and several ways or ceremonies enabling the Malagasy to honour their ancestors and ask for help or blessings. In the highlands, for example, the Fahamadihana (turning the dead, wrapping the ancestors in new shrouds) or the bathing of royal relics in the Menabe region (Fitampoha) or near Majunga (Fanampoa Be).

All these ceremonies follow a code of “Fomba” (customs, or even protocol) and “Fady” (forbidden or taboo). They may be animated by singing, dancing (according to the time), big feasts and especially “Kabary“. More than a speech, the “Kabary” is oratory that mixes discourse, metaphors, proverbs, maxims and even fairy tales. It is used to convey deep messages in order to touch the audience’s hearts and souls while eliciting their admiration.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Cultures et traditions

Cultures et traditions

La culture malgache est difficile à appréhender succinctement. Elle a comme socle le «Fihavanana». Mot intraduisible, elle s’apparente à l’entraide, à la solidarité et à la protection entre membres d’une même famille y compris les ancêtres, entre membres d’un même clan, entre voisins, entre ethnies… Cette valeur constitue un principe fondamental de la vie individuelle et collective des malgaches. Ainsi pour entretenir le Fihavanana le malgache effectuera tout naturellement tout au long de sa vie des «Adidy » (devoirs) envers toute la société. Le Fihavanana favorise aussi le sentiment d’appartenance lors de nombreuses cérémonies comme :

La circoncision (Famorana)

Ayant lieu entre juin et septembre, c’est un moment fort de la relation entre ancêtre et vivant. Elle consacre l’appartenance sociale du garçon à la lignée de son père et donc de ses ancêtres. La circoncision peut se faire aussi de manière collective comme à Mananjary. Appelée «Sambatra», cette cérémonie donne lieu à de grandes festivités tous les 7 ans.

Le mariage malagasy

C’est un moment très important de la vie pour avoir la bénédiction des parents et de la société. Il se déroule généralement en 3 étapes (avec des variantes) dont la plus importante, le Vodiondry (littéralement croupe de mouton). Cette dernière étape est la phase de «négociation» entre les 2 familles. Comme la future épouse est considérée comme très précieuse, la famille du fiancé doit prouver à l’autre partie qu’elle sera aimée et choyée. Par ailleurs le fiancé doit donner à ses beaux parents, une dot ou somme d’argent équivalent à la compensation de l’absence de la future mariée. Cette cérémonie peut donner lieux à de longues joutes orales (kabary) et ainsi durer des heures.

Le culte des ancêtres

Convaincus du principe qu’il y a une vie après la mort et que les ancêtres ont le pouvoir de protéger et aider les vivants, les malgaches se doivent de les respecter. Les ancêtres sont comme le lien qui lie les vivants au Dieu créateur de l’univers (Zanahary ou Andriananahary). Ainsi il existe beaucoup de lieux sacrés, «Doany» (pierres, arbres, collines, lacs…) à Madagascar et plusieurs manières ou cérémonies qui permettent aux malgaches d’honorer leurs ancêtres, de leur demander de l’aide ou des bénédictions. Dans les hauts plateaux on trouvera par exemple le Fahamadihana (retournement de morts, consistant à recouvrir les aïeux de nouveaux linceuls) ou le bain de reliques royales dans la région du Menabe (Fitampoha) ou près de Majunga (Fanampoa Be).

Toutes ces cérémonies sont codifiées par des «Fomba» (usages, coutumes voire protocole) et par des «Fady» (interdits ou tabous). Elles peuvent être animées par des chants, des danses (selon le moment), de grands festins et surtout par des «Kabary». Plus qu’un discours, le «Kabary» est une forme oratoire qui mêle discours, métaphores, proverbes, maximes et même contes. Il sert à transmettre des messages profonds afin de faire vibrer le cœur et l’âme tout en émerveillant l’auditoire.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *